Introduction to the lab

IMG_20170330_201414Welcome to my lab!

What you see here is a conglomeration of my lab and my roommate’s lab. I’ve lived in this house with my roommate for almost a year, and during that time I’ve grown my lab more than double. The rack itself is my roommate’s rack, although I’ve recently acquired a similar 24U rack to house my lab when I leave. Starting from the top, there is:

  • 1U APC KVM terminal (roommate’s; not working)
  • Wiremold PDU (roommate’s)
  • Dell R510 (my primary server)
    • Windows Server 2012 R2
    • 2x Xeon X5650
    • 16GB RAM
    • Dell PERC S300 RAID controller
    • 80GB HDD (boot drive)
    • 2x 1TB WD Red in RAID1 (backup and data storage)
    • 2TB HDD (media storage)
  • Dell R710 (my new virtualization host)
    • Windows Server 2016
    • 2x Xeon X5660
    • 32GB RAM
    • Dell PERC 6/i RAID controller
    • 256GB Samsung 840 Evo (boot drive and VM storage)
  • HP DL380 G7 (roommate’s server)
  • Netapp storage array (roommate’s)
  • 2x 1500VA Liebert rack-mount UPS w/ network card (one mine, one roommate’s)

And on the back:

  • 48 port ethernet patch panel (roommate’s)
    • Each room of the house is wired with 2 Cat5e jacks to this panel
  • 24 port Cisco Catalyst 2960S gigabit switch (mine)

On top of the rack is a Comcast cable modem and my Ubiquiti EdgeRouter X SFP. All the cabling in the rack and through the house is Cat5e and has been tested to support gigabit speeds. On the ground level there is a Linksys EA6400 router in bridge mode acting as a switch in the home theater and a wireless AP for the whole house.

That’s about it for hardware. Right now my R510 is handling all my services and storage. It’s currently running Server 2012 R2 with Hyper-V. I have Plex, Sonarr, Radarr, and Jackett running on the host. In a CentOS VM I have deluge and PlexPy running, and in a debian VM I have Pi-Hole running. I’ve just installed Server 2016 to the R710 and am planning to migrate my 2 VMs as well as a P2V conversion of the 2012 host to the R710, then I’ll be installing FreeNAS 10 to a flash drive and using the R510 as a storage server.

That’s about it for an introduction to the lab. I’ll make more posts as things change and grow, so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

